IFPE Statement on Charlottesville and Psychoanalytic Protest 8-14-17

IFPE's Statement on Immigration Ban 2-2-17

IFPE President's 2016 Address: Psychoanalysis, Politics, Skin, Resistance and Dignity


2017 IFPE Board of Directors

    PRESIDENT                       Farrell Silverberg

SECRETARY                          Jay Swanson

  TREASURER                     Manuel Marquez


Tom Archbald
Samoan Barish
Johanna Cuevas
Oren Gozlan
Laurence Green
Christina Griffin
Ruth Lijtmaer
Douglas F. Maxwell
Rachel Newcombe
Judith E. Vida


Arts and psychoanalysis

Paul Zelevansky


Samoan Barish

community psychoanalysis

George Bermudez


Manuel Marquez & Stuart Spence

Gender, Sexuality and Psychoanalysis

Oren Gozlan

History of Psychoanalysis

Billy Brennan & Christina Griffin

Inclusiveness and Diversity

Oren Gozlan & Ruth Lijtmaer


Tom Archbald

Nominations and Elections

Larry Green

Other/Wise reformation

Farrell Silverberg

Psychoanalysis and Spirituality

Elisabeth Crim


Elisabeth Crim

Social Media Advisory

Douglas F. Maxwell

Social Responsibility and Ethics

Ruth Lijtmaer

Trauma and Resilence

Johanna Cuevas



Lois Ehrlich


IFPE's Presidents

Farrell Silverberg, Current President

Farrell Silverberg, Ph.D., N.C.Psy.A., joined IFPE in 2007. He has served on IFPE’s Board of Directors, on the Board of Trustees of the National Association for the Advancement of Psychoanalysis (NAAP), and has chaired Social Responsibility committees for both organizations. He co-chaired IFPE’s 2013 conference on “Transience and Permanence" (with Past President Judith Vida), was the chair of IFPE’s 2014 conference on “Necessary Fictions,” and, is again co-chairing (with Judith Vida) IFPE’s 2015 conference on “Vulnerability and Its Discontents” in Philadelphia. Reflecting IFPE’s openness to many viewpoints, Farrell brings an amalgam of orientations, and is a supervising and training psychoanalyst at the Philadelphia School of Psychoanalysis (PSP). He has published in the United States, Europe and Asia, and is the first Westerner trained in Taopsychotherapy’s heart-to-heart approach. His writings include: The Tao of self psychology and Resonance and exchange in contemplative psychotherapy. Farrell co-authored research papers on psychoanalytic efficacy, authored a book distilling psychoanalysis into lay language, and translated works of António Coimbra de Matos (a 2012 IFPE Distinguished Educator from Portugal).  The electronic "door" to his office is always open to communications from IFPE members.  Email: IFPE President.

Please click on the link below to read full 2016 Presidential Address:

IFPE President's 2016 Address: Psychoanalysis, Politics, Skin, Resistance and Dignity


Photo Credit: Associated Press Photo/Jeff Widener, 1989

Photo Credit: Associated Press Photo/Jeff Widener, 1989

2015 Presidential address


Past Presidents

2012-2013  Judith E. Vida, M.D.

2008-2011 Douglas F. Maxwell, L.P., N.C.Psy.A - 2008 Presidential Address

2007 David L. Downing, Psy.D.

2005-2006  Judith E. Vida M.D. - 2005 Presidential Address    2006 Presidential Address

2003-2004  Harold B. Davis Ph.D.

2002  Gerald J. Gargiulo, M.A.

2000-2001  Michael Guy Thompson, Ph.D.

1998-1999  Patrick B. Kavanaugh, Ph.D.

1997  Gerald J. Gargiulo, M.A.

1996  Marvin Hyman, Ph.D.

1995  Stephen Friedlander, Ph.D.

1994  Marga Speicher, M.S.W., Ph.D.

1993  James Barron, Ph.D.